Cornhusker Economics May 17, 2017
Nebraska National Agri-Marketing Association: Practical Experience and Professional Development

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) chapter concluded a successful year at the NAMA annual conference. The chapter brought home three awards, a chapter performance award for chapter communications, fourth place outstanding student chapter and fifth place in the John Deere Signature Award competition. Chapter performance award judges praised Nebraska NAMA’s collaboration with the University of São Paulo. The students from Brazil joined Nebraska students each week to work on developing the marketing plan for the competition. The John Deere award is given to student chapters based on business knowledge, academic excellence, leadership development and community citizenship. Students also received recognition for selling the most fundraising raffle tickets. Freshmen member Allison Brockman won an Agribusiness Educational Foundation scholarship.

At the conference, the marketing team presented their marketing plan for a combine corn head attachment. The marketing plan competition gave students the opportunity to develop real-world marketing skills as they researched and developed the plan. Students conducted a market analysis, assessing the market potential, likely customers, competition and other key factors impacting the harvest equipment market. Another key part of the plan was the promotional plan used to introduce and sell the product to the market. A business proposition, financial evaluation and monitoring and measurement rounded out the plan.

Nebraska NAMA was one of 29 teams participating in the competition. “This competition is a great opportunity for marketing students to put their education into practice. Each year I am amazed by the talent of these teams. They’re truly an awesome group that we hope will continue in ag marketing as they begin their professional careers,” said Erin Nash, NAMA Careers Committee Chair. To learn more about the marketing competition, visit

In addition to working on the marketing plan, Nebraska NAMA held several club meetings. Representatives from Allo, Vivayic and Cabela’s gave students marketing insight from industries outside agriculture. The club also hosted a networking roundtable featuring Helena Chemical Company, Cargill, Archer Daniels Midland, Wells Fargo, Rob-See-Co, Monsanto, Ardent Mills, Dow AgroSciences and Producers Hybrids. The roundtable gave students the opportunity to interact with professionals in a small-group, low-pressure situation. The students came away from the event with tips and tricks to make the most of the next day's career fair. Nebraska NAMA also partnered with the professional chapter, Cornhusker NAMA, to host a joint meeting on apps in agriculture.

In November, Nebraska NAMA collected food donations for the campus-wide food drive and earned first place in the student organization donation competition. The food was donated to the Food Bank of Lincoln to help provide holiday meals for those in need.

In 2016-2017, Nebraska NAMA was led by President Jake Werner. Caleb Nuehring, marketing plan vice president, provided valuable leadership and direction for the marketing team. Darin Knobbe, programs vice president, was responsible for coordinating club meetings. Membership Vice President Leslie Harrison was in charge of membership recruitment. Erika Harms was the secretary and coordinated the annual report. Eric Wemhoff kept the finances in line as treasurer. Brent Miller served as social and community service chair, Allison Brockman as trip chair and Jordan Damkroger as promotion chair. Kara Heideman and Rosalee Swartz were the advisors.

Nebraska NAMA is looking forward to another great year. If you would like to share your marketing expertise or have an innovative idea for an agricultural or food product the team could use for the marketing competition, send an email to Kara Heideman at

Keep up with Nebraska NAMA on Twitter @UNL_NAMA or on Facebook @NebraskaNAMA

Photo of students at the NAMA national convention
NAMA members attending the national conference: (l to r) Eric Wemhoff (Humphrey, NE), Marissa Franzluebbers (West Point, NE), Darin Knobbe (Imperial, NE), Allison Brockman (Columbia, KY), Brent Miller (Lyons, NE), Erika Harms (Glenvil, NE), Caleb Nuehring (Plainview, NE), Leslie Harrison (Katy, TX), Jake Werner (Humphrey, NE), Karly Niewohner (Scribner, NE), Justin Roper (Holdrege, NE), Marydith Donnelly (Katy, TX), Jordan Damkroger (Firth, NE).


Kara Heideman
Department of Agricultural Economics
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Rosalee Swartz
Department of Agricultural Economics
University of Nebraska-Lincoln